Skip to content ↓

Early Years curriculum

An overview

Our ethos within the Foundation Stage can be described as ‘Learning to play and playing to learn.’

We work to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. The EYFS Curriculum is organised into seven areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Physical Development
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Literacy

We are sensitive to the individual development of each child to ensure that the activities they undertake are suitable for the stage that they have reached and we make use of the Differentiated Early Years Outcomes (DEYO) to support our work in this regard.  We aim to stretch our children but not push them beyond their capabilities so that they always continue to enjoy learning.

Children’s earliest experiences help to build a secure foundation for learning throughout their school years.  Therefore all our activities are planned to ensure maximum learning takes place throughout the day, whilst ongoing observations are completed to assess the learning and respond accordingly.

We enjoy a wide variety of activities throughout the week embedded within a familiar structure. This approach supports engagement and is designed to help the children learn new skills, gain confidence and form good relationships with both staff and other children.

The curriculum offer for each child draws its content from a range of sources:

  • The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum framework.
  • Education, Health and Care Plan (EHCP) priorities derived from the end of key stage aspirations for each child.
  • Support for engagement. This will be provided in a way that is appropriate to the individual child. Amongst the tools we use to promote engagement/early communication are Attention Autism and Intensive Interaction (see the Kingsweston School ‘Communication in Context’ document).
  • Emotional health and wellbeing. We draw upon a number of frameworks to inform our practice. Key amongst them are systems theory, attachment theory and PLACE (Playfulness, Loving attitude, Acceptance, Curiosity and Empathy).